Title Non-Voting Members of Diocesan Convention

Proposer Constitution & Canons Committee

- 1. Be it resolved that the Constitution of the Diocese of West Missouri be amended as
- 2. follows:

3.

4. ARTICLE VIII - MEMBERS OF THE DIOCESAN CONVENTION

5.

- 6. SECTION 1. The members of the Diocesan Convention shall be the following, all
- 7. with seat, voice, and vote, unless otherwise noted:
- 8. (a) The Bishop;
- 9. (b) The Bishop Coadjutor, if any;
- 10. (c) The Bishop Suffragan, if any;
- 11. (d) The Archdeacon, if any;
- 12. (e) Every cleric in good standing in the Church who is canonically resident in this Diocese;
- 14. (f) The Secretary of the Diocese (seat and voice, but no vote);
- 15. (g) The Treasurer of the Diocese (seat and voice, but no vote);
- 16. (h) The Chancellor of the Diocese (seat and voice, but no vote);
- 17. (i) Any other Officers of the Diocese, if any (seat and voice, but no vote);
- 18. (j) Lay delegates from every Parish and Congregation in union with the
- 19. Diocese duly chosen and entitled to seats, as hereinafter provided.

Explanation

This amendment converts the other primary officers of the diocese (other than the bishops) to non-voting members of Convention. This is consistent with the practice of other dioceses in which diocesan officers are ex-officio, non-voting members.

Resolution 2024-2 Page 1 of 1